The Early Years foundation stage (EYFS) is a statutory framework from the UK that sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children from birth to age five develop well and are kept healthy and safe.  It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The EYFS Framework follows four guiding principles, these are:


Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates

The Early Years Foundation Stage focuses on 7 key areas of learning and development. which are listed below - click on each to find out further information.


Return to the
Early Years Curriculum Overview

Find out more about the
Reggio Emilia Approach

Find out more about play and inquiry based learning



789 Rajuthit Rd, Hat Yai District,  Songkhla Province 90110

TEL: +66(0) 74 252 111
FAX: +66(0) 74 252 998

Email: info@southerninter.ac.th